Total Allowable Catch is the total amount of abalone that can be taken from Tasmanian waters in any calendar year. It is determined annually by the Minister on advice from the Abalone Fishery Advisory Council (AbFAC). AbFAC takes into account a measurement of catch called Catch Per Unit Effort (CPUE) in each block when making its recommendation to the Minister for the following year.

The TAC for 2023 is 773.5 tonnes, allocated as follows:

ZONE TAC – kg TAC – kg/unit
Bass Strait 84,000 24
Eastern 227,500 65
Greenlip 91,000 26
Northern 59,500 17
Western 311,500 89
TOTAL 773,500 221